Monday, November 28, 2022

Book Review: Without a Trace by Danielle Steel

 Review


Without a Trace

Danielle Steel

 

Book Description:

Charles Vincent seems to have it all—a beautiful wife, two successful children, and a well-paying career. Yet happiness remains out of reach. He is trapped in a loveless marriage and his job is simply a paycheck. But his life changes forever one night as he drives along the Normandy coast, heading to their lavish ch√Ęteau for the weekend. In one terrifying moment, Charles falls asleep at the wheel and veers off the road, plunging thirty feet down the face of a rocky cliff.

Miraculously, Charles survives. After gathering the courage to climb to safety, he starts to walk—bruised, bloody, and desperate for help. In the dark of night, he happens upon a cabin where he meets the kind and beautiful Aude Saint-Martin. They have an instant connection, and as she nurses him back to health, Charles begins to discover the passion he’s been missing for so many years.

In the aftermath of the crash, Charles has a startling realization: He doesn’t have to go back. He could simply choose to disappear, to walk away from his old life. When his car is discovered, he’ll be presumed dead, washed away at sea. If he stays with Aude, he has a chance at a fuller, happier life that he didn’t know was possible. It all seems too good to resist. But Aude has secrets of her own, and before long their pasts catch up to them, threatening everything they have fought to build.

What would happen if you were given a chance to walk away from everything in your life and start over with a blank slate, and you had a split second to decide? In 
Without a Trace, Danielle Steel tells an irresistible story of the risks two people are willing to take in exchange for a chance at the life they’ve always wanted.

 

Release Date: January 3, 2023

Preorder Now:

Amazon Kindle

 

My 5-Star Review:

What would you do if your life was unhappy and you had a chance to disappear and start your life all over again? Charles Vincent learns the answer to that question when his car slides over an ocean cliff into the water. He survives, and finds his way to a country house where a lovely woman takes him in and helps him heal. Charles hates his job, is unhappy in his cold marriage, and wants nothing more than to move on in his life. Could this be his chance to just disappear?

WITHOUT A TRACE by Danielle Steel is a page-turning story of a man struggling to let go of his past life so he can finally be happy again and move forward. As Charles and the new woman he’s fallen madly in love with face devastating complications, the only truth is their love and devotion to each other. And after all, isn’t that what everyone wants?

I highly recommend this exciting tale by the queen of women’s fiction. This is one Danielle Steel story you won’t want to miss.

 


About the Author:

Danielle Steel has been hailed as one of the world's bestselling authors, with almost a billion copies of her novels sold. Her many international bestsellers include High Stakes, Invisible, Flying Angels, The Butler, Complications and other highly acclaimed novels. She is also the author of His Bright Light, the story of her son Nick Traina's life and death; A Gift of Hope, a memoir of her work with the homeless; Expect a Miracle, a book of her favorite quotations for inspiration and comfort; Pure Joy, about the dogs she and her family have loved; and the children's books Pretty Minnie in Paris and Pretty Minnie in Hollywood.


Wednesday, November 23, 2022

Book Review: On The Inside by Kim Cano

 Book Review


On The Inside

Kim Cano

 

Book Description:

She didn't know what she stood to lose - until hope was all she had left.

Kristen was living the dream - a loving husband, adorable children, a successful career. Why hadn't it been enough? She's had a lot of time to ponder the answer - behind bars.

It was a little fudging of the numbers, just once to cover some unpaid bills. Somehow, she wound up a convicted white-collar criminal, sentenced to a women's prison full of drug dealers and murderers, enduring days of mind-numbing tedium punctuated by moments of harrowing violence. A place where respect is earned with one's fists.

Yet within these walls, random acts of kindness occur, friendships form, and people fall in love. Letters from her sister-in-law keep Kristen connected to the family she's lost. They give her hope that someday she might be given a second chance. But first, she must face the personal demons lurking in the shadows of her soul - and find a way to forgive herself.

 

Buy now on:

Amazon Kindle

Paperback

Audiobook

 

My 5-Star Review:

Kristen goes to prison for stealing from her employer and soon learns that life on the inside is a complicated combination of boredom, loneliness, stress, and fear. She’s lost everything—her husband won’t speak to her and her children are being kept away from her, too. Without the kindness of her sister-in-law who writes to her regularly, she would be completely lost.

As the years go by, Kristen makes friends and enemies. She finds her own path in the prison system with the goal to get out someday and hopefully be a part of her family’s life again.

On The Inside by Kim Cano is a thought-provoking story filled with interesting characters and the lives they lead inside prison. Peppered with strong emotions and heartfelt connections, you will find yourself intrigued by the women who live behind bars and their many stories. I highly recommend this novel to those who enjoy a realistic telling of what it takes to live on the inside.

 

About the Author:

Kim Cano is the author of five women's fiction novels: A Widow Redefined, On the Inside, Eighty and Out, His Secret Life, and When the Time Is Right. Readers say her books are about strong women who struggle but survive, hard-won second chances, family life, and friendship.

Kim has also written a short story collection called For Animal Lovers. 10% of the sale price of that book is donated to the ASPCA® to help homeless pets.

Visit Kim's website to receive a free copy of The Rescue: www.kimcano.com


Tuesday, November 1, 2022

The Christmas Charm Holiday Giveaway!

 Giveaway!

UPDATE: I can finally name the winners - they have all gotten back to me. Rachel B. won $50; Missy H. won $50, and the grand prize winner was Lori S. who won the necklace and $25. Thank you all for entering!


The Giveaway is now over - Thank you to everyone who entered. I've contacted the winners and will announce them soon. I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving and Christmas Holiday!


The Christmas Charm Holiday Giveaway!


It's release day for my Christmas novel,
and to celebrate, I'm having a giveaway!

The giveaway starts today and ends on November 23rd. 

First Prize: The ACTUAL Sterling Silver Charm Necklace that appears on the cover of The Christmas Charm (a $70 value), plus a $25 Amazon Gift Card.

Second and Third Prizes: One $50 Amazon Gift Card to each winner.

To Enter - Use the Rafflecopter below. 
If you don't wish to enter that way, you can leave a comment on this blog post and I'll add you into the giveaway. Make sure I know your name so I can add you.

Good Luck!

(Only use the first Rafflecopter - not sure why they added a second one but we'll ignore it.)


Monday, October 3, 2022

Book Review: It's Alive by Julian David Stone

Book Review


It’s Alive 

A Novel

Julian David Stone

 

 Book Description:

 

For readers of F.Scott Fitzgerald's The Last Tycoon and Budd Schulberg's What Makes Sammy Run.

The only thing harder than raising the dead, is making a movie about raising the dead.


In the summer of 1931, life was good for Junior Laemmle. Though only twenty-three years old, he was the head of all movie production for Universal Pictures, and under his reign, the studio flourished. So much so, he was about to be bestowed with the greatest honor a young executive can receive in Hollywood: a promotion to vice president of the entire company. What’s more, Carl Laemmle, his father and founder of the studio, was returning to California for the first time in years to personally present the honor to his son.

Or so Junior thought.

When his father arrives, Junior discovers that instead of being grateful for transforming and catapulting the out-of-date studio into the future, his father is obsessed with Junior’s next production: 
Frankenstein. Like the year before, Carl is fervently against making another grisly and gothic film, despite Dracula becoming a huge hit—a project which Junior fought for and personally oversaw through production. Also not helping Junior’s cause, though the film is just days away from beginning production, the final choice between Bela Lugosi and Boris Karloff to play the role of the Monster, has yet to be made.

It’s Alive!
 is a thrilling and vibrant portrait of 1930s Hollywood centered around the chaotic and exciting days just before the filming of the beloved cult-classic film, Frankenstein. Woven with hopeful passion, emotional vulnerability, staunch determination, and creative fulfillment, readers will be swept along with breathless cinematic pace through events that will not only change the lives of everyone involved, but Hollywood itself.

 

Genre: Biographical Fiction

 

My 5-Star Review:

Imagine - if it hadn’t been for the persistence of young Junior Laemmle—the son of the owner of Universal Pictures but not yet able to make decisions for the company—Frankenstein the movie would never have existed. For those of us who grew up loving these old classic horror movies, that would be hard to believe. But it’s true, and author Julian David Stone shares with us, in his fictional recreation, the days leading up to the making of Frankenstein.

 

Even with the success of Dracula behind him, Junior still must fight tooth and nail to produce Frankenstein. Success for many hangs in the balance as Junior pushes through his project despite not getting the go-ahead. Boris Karloff waits with bated breath, and only pennies in his pocket, for the okay to play the monster while Bela Lugosi cringes at the thought of being forced to play the monster. The author shows through several real-life characters the angst they felt up until the final decision, which makes the reader turn pages in anticipation. A wonderful story for those who enjoy the old horror flicks and great background on a beloved old film. If you are an old-movie buff or just a lover of Hollywood sagas – you will enjoy this novel.

 

Buy Now:

Amazon Kindle or Paperback

 

 


About the Author:

Julian David Stone has always been a creative at heart. When he realized in the ’80s that being in a band wasn’t in his cards, he began smuggling his camera into concerts – adventures he later chronicled in his best-selling coffee table book No Cameras Allowed: My Career As An Outlaw Rock & Roll Photographer. He moved to Los Angeles in his 20s to study filmmaking and wrote screenplays for Disney, Paramount, Sony and MGM, as well as a full-length play (The Elvis Test) and several short-form documentaries on Frank Sinatra for Warner Bros. He is also the writer and director of the cult comedy feature film Follow the Bitch. His award-winning debut novel, The Strange Birth, Short Life, and Sudden Death of Justice Girl, centers on the world of ’50s live television and is currently being turned into a TV series. His latest work, the historical fiction novel It’s Alive, is a vibrant portrait of 1930s Hollywood centered around the chaotic and exciting days just before the filming of the beloved classic film Frankenstein.